244th ACS National Meeting & Exposition






August 19 – August 23, 2012
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
ACS Theme: Materials for Health and Medicine

Details of the Technical Program for this meeting are in the Fall 2012 issue of the PICOGRAM

A summary of this meeting was published in Outlooks on Pest Management

Award Symposia

AGRO International Award for Research in Agrochemicals
Sponsored by DuPont

2012 Award Winner: Thomas C. Sparks, Dow AgroSciences

Sterling B. Hendricks Memorial Award
Sponsored by USDA-ARS

Organized 2012 by AGFD
2012 Award Winner: Eric Block, SUNY

Award for Innovation in Chemistry of Agriculture
Sponsored by BASF

2012 Award Winner: Steven J. Lehotay, USDA-ARS

AGRO New Investigator Award
Sponsored by Dow AgroSciences

Organizer: Cathleen Hapeman, USDA-ARS, 301-504-6451, cathleen.hapeman@ars.usda.gov

Kenneth A. Spencer Award
Sponsored by ACS Kansas City Section
Cosponsored by AGFD
Organizer: Eckhard Hellmuth, UMKC, (816) 235-2290, hellmuthe@umkc.edu
2012 Award Winner:  James N. Seiber, UC Davis

Symposium Papers

Prospective Approach to Understanding Transport and Fate of Bioactive Environmental Contaminants
James N. Seiber, UC Davis
•  View Slides

Natural products chemistry and its applications to realworld agricultural problems
John J. Beck
•  View Slides

Top of page

AGRO Education Awards for Undergraduate and Graduate Student Travel: Research Poster Presentations
Sponsored by Bayer CropScience

Organizers:
Diana Aga, University of Buffalo, 716-645-4220, dianaaga@buffalo.edu
Marja Koivunen, Marrone Bio Innovations, 530-750-2880, mkoivunen@marroneorganics.com

Technical Symposia
Environmental Fate, Transport and Modeling/Monitoring of Agricultural Chemicals
Sponsored by Waterborne Environmental
Scott H. Jackson, BASF, 919-547-2349, scott.jackson@basf.com
Paul Hendley, Syngenta Crop Protection, 336-632-6112, paul.hendley@syngenta.com
Natalia Peranginangin, Syngenta Crop Protection, 336-632-7389, natalia.peranginangin@syngenta.com

Symposium Papers

Comparison of multiple source ground spray deposition curves for determination of buffers in simulation models
Scott H. Jackson, Research Triangle Park, NC
•  View Slides

Modeling the vapor drift potential of current-use pesticides
Cleo L. Davie-Martin, Kimberly J. Hageman, Yu-Ping Chin
•  View Slides

Refined Application of the SWAT Model for Endangered Species Effects Determination
Michael Winchell, Solomon Folle, Roger Breton
•  View Slides

Identification of Important Pathways for Residential Runoff Transport of Pyrethroids: Preliminary Experimental Results
Russell L. Jones, Paul C. Davidson, Christopher M. Harbourt, Paul Hendley
•  View Slides

Top of page

Fate and Exposure of Urban Applied Pesticides in the Context of Human and Ecological Risk Assessments
Cosponsored by AGFD, ENVR
Stuart Z. Cohen, Env’l. & Turf Services, Inc. 301-933-4700, ets@ets-md.com
Pamela Rice, ARS, USDA, 612-624-9210, pamela.rice@ars.usda.gov
John M. Clark, UMASS-Amherst, 413-545-1052, jclark@vasci.umass.edu

Human Health and Transgenic Crops
Cosponsored by AGFD
Stephen O. Duke, USDA-ARS, 662-915-1036, stephen.duke@ars.usda.gov
Agnes Rimando, USDA-ARS, 662-915-1037, agnes.rimando@ars.usda.gov

Symposium Papers

Metabolic engineering of lignan biosynthesis in Forsythia
Honoo Satake
•  View Slides

Top of page

Integrated Vector and Resistance Management
Jeffrey R. Bloomquist, UF – Gainesville, 352-273-9417, jbquist@epi.ufl.edu
Troy D. Anderson, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, 540-231-1862, anderst@vt.edu

Is Your Analytical Method Good Enough?
Julie Eble, Critical Path Services, 610-558-3001 ext. 100, Julie.Eble@criticalpathservices.com
Steve Lehotay, USDA-ARS, 215-233-6433, steven.lehotay@ars.usda.gov

Maximum Residue Levels of Agricultural Chemicals on Food
Cosponsored by AGFD, ENVR
Heidi Irrig, Syngenta, 336-632-7243, heidi.irrig@syngenta.com
Phil Brindle, BASF Agricultural Solutions, 919-547-2654, philip.brindle@basf.com
Jamin Huang, Bayer CropScience, 919-549-2634, jamin.huang@bayer.com

Mechanisms of Insecticidal Action and Resistance: New Compounds and Recent Advances
David Soderlund, Cornell University, 315-787-2364, dms6@cornell.edu
John Clark, UMASS-Amherst, 413-545-1052, jclark@vasci.umass.edu

Natural Products for Pest Management
Cosponsored by AGFD, ENVR
Stephen O. Duke, USDA-ARS, 662-915-1036, stephen.duke@ars.usda.gov
Marja Koivunen, Eurofins Agroscience Services, 559-341-2029, marjakoivunen@eurofins.com
Joel R. Coats, Iowa State University, 515-294-4776, jcoats@iastate.edu
John J. Beck, USDA-ARS, 510-559-6154, john.beck@ars.usda.gov

Symposium Papers

Highly irregular terpenoids as mealybug pheromones: chemistry and applications
Yunfan Zou, Jocelyn G. Millar, Satya P. Chinta
•  View Slides

Advancing Phoma macrostoma selective bioherbicide to commercialization
Stuart Falk & Karen Bailey
•  View Slides

Volatile Natural Products for Monitoring a California Tree Nut Insect Pest
John J. Beck, Bradley S. Higbee, Douglas M. Light, Wai S. Gee, Gloria B. Merrill, Jennifer M. Hayashi
•  View Slides

Personalized Pesticides- a new paradigm: Volatilization of individual components of botanical
Saber Miresmailli, PhD
•  View Slides

Top of page

Next Generation Biofuels and Bioproducts: Advances and Challenges
Cosponsored by CELL, ENVR
Ashli Brown, Mississippi State University, 662-325-7814, abrown@bch.msstate.edu
Amrith Gunasekara, California Department of Food and Agriculture, 916-654-0433, amrith.gunasekara@cdfa.ca.gov
Cathleen Hapeman, USDA-ARS, 301-504-6451, cathleen.hapeman@ars.usda.gov
Arland Hotchkiss, USDA-ARS, 215-233-6448, arland.hotchkiss@ars.usda.gov
Darrell Sparks, Mississippi State University, 662-325-7814, dsparks@bch.msstate.edu

Perfecting Communication of Chemical Risk
Cosponsored by AGFD, ENVR
Jim Seiber, UC-Davis 530-752-1141, jnseiber@ucdavis.edu
Ivan Kennedy, Univ. of Sydney, 61407949622, ivan.kennedy@sydney.edu.au
Kevin Armbrust, armbrust@mscl.msstate.edu
John Johnston, FSIS/USDA, john.johnston@fsis.usda.gov
Tom Potter, ARS/USDDA,  tom.potter@ars.usda.gov
Keith Solomon, Univ. of Guelph, ksolomon@uoguelph.ca

Pesticide and Fumigant Emissions from Agricultural Systems
Cosponsored by ENVR
Scott R. Yates, USDA-ARS, 951-369-4803, scott.yates@ars.usda.gov
Laura McConnell, USDA-ARS, 301-504-6298, laura.mcconnell@ars.usda.gov
Jim Seiber, University of California-Davis, 530-752-2490, jnseiber@ucdavis.edu
Cathleen Hapeman, USDA-ARS, 301-504-6451, cathleen.hapeman@ars.usda.gov

Pesticides: Bridging the Gaps between Chemistry, Exposure Science, Epidemiology and Health Risks
Jim Gray, Gray Executive Direction, 800-345-5109 james.gray@24D.org
Keith Solomon, University of Guelph, (519) 824-4120, ksolomon@uoguelph.ca

Pesticide Environmental Fate Properties: Measurement, Prediction, Limitations, and Reliability
Thomas L. Potter, USDA-ARS, 229-386-7073, tom.potter@ars.usda.gov
Scott A. Senseman, Texas AM University, 979-845-5375, s-senseman@tamu.edu
Ronald Parker, USEPA-OPP, 703-305-5505, parker.ronald@epa.gov

Protection of Agricultural Productivity, Public Health and the Environment – General Session
John M. Clark, UMASS-Amherst, 413-545-1052, jclark@vasci.umass.edu

Reactive Nitrogen (Nr) from Agriculture: Emission, Consequence, and Management
Steven Trabue, USDA-ARS, 515-294-0201, steven.trabue@ars.usda.gov
Viney Aneja, North Carolina State University, 915-515-7808, vpaneja@ncsu.edu
Laura McConnell, USDA-ARS, 301-504-6298, laura.mcconnell@ars.usda.gov
Bret Schichtel, National Park Service, 970-491-8581, schichtel@cira.colostate.edu
Phil Silva, USDA-ARS, 270-781-2260, phil.silva@ars.usda.gov

Synthesis and Chemistry of Agrochemicals
Tom Stevenson, DuPont Crop Protection, 302-366-5744, thomas.m.stevenson@usa.dupont.com
Vid Hegde, Dow Agrosciences, vbhegde@dow.com