AGRO Education Awards for Student Travel

Sponsored by Bayer

The AGRO Division has established an endowment fund to be used to promote an understanding of the role of chemistry in agriculture. To address this goal, student awards will be made through the Division’s Education Committee. The subject of the presentation should pertain to the chemistry of the AGRO Division. Topics should relate to pest management chemistry including synthesis, metabolism, regulatory, biotechnology, delivery, risk assessment, resistance, residues, mode of action, fate/behavior/transport, and agronomic practices. The AGRO Division is also interested in chemical products made from agricultural commodities and byproducts, including biofuels and the issues surrounding their production.

Selected undergraduate and graduate students were awarded up to $600 each to help defray costs of attendance to give poster and oral presentations at the 258th ACS National Meeting in San Diego, CA, on August 25-29, 2019.  First, Second, and Third place winners in the poster competition will receive an additional cash award.  Please see the application form below for more details.


Education Award Co-Chairs:
Marja Koivunen, AMVAC Chemical Corporation
Diana Aga, University of Buffalo

2017 Awardees

2017 AGRO Student Travel Award Winners: (left to right) Edmund Norris, Colin Wong, Rui Chen, Zhilin Li, Ping He, Scott O’Neal, Lei Su, Shiyao Jiang, Tittaya Boontongto, Nick Larson, Niranjana Krishnan, Jerod Hurst, Emily Wall, Zijiang Yang, and Qi Yao.

2017 Student Poster Winners:
First and Second place and the two Third-place winners were (left to right) – 3rd place Ping He (University of Buffalo, Diana Aga), 1st place Zhilin Li (Louisiana State University, Daniel Swale), 2nd place Shiyao Jiang (University of Florida, Jeffrey Bloomquist), and 3rd place Lei Su (University of Buffalo, Ning Dai).

2016 Awardees

1st Prize
Edmund Norris, Exploring the relationship between PaOA1 receptor modulation and the insecticidal character of monoterpenoids. Iowa State University, Joel Coats.

2nd Prize
Nita Gabriela Chavez Soria, Mass Spectral identification of biomarkers of exposure to silver nanoparticles in corn roots, University of New York at Buffalo, Diana Aga.

3rd Prize
Scott O’Neal
, Cardiac regulation of viral infection in a model social insect, Virginia Tech, Troy Anderson.