AGRO New Investigator Award

Sponsored by Valent U.S.A.

The purpose of the New Investigator Award is to recognize scientists who have obtained a doctoral degree in the last five years and are actively conducting academic, industrial, consulting, or regulatory studies. A panel consisting of at least three AGRO members will chose up to three finalists based on their extended abstracts, 1-page curriculum vitae, and letter(s) of recommendation.

Each finalist will receive up to $1275 for travel and meeting expenses.

Nomination Deadline:
The extended abstract, curriculum vitae, and letter(s) must be received by
the New Investigator Award (NIA) Coordinator no later than March 20, 2019. A 300 word abstract should also be submitted via the ACS website prior to March 20, 2019.

For more information, please contact:
Sasha Kweskin, NIA Coordinator, Bayer US LLC, Crop Science Division

2018 New Investigator Award Finalists

2017 New Investigator Award Winners


2016 New Investigator Award Winners

2015 New Investigator Award Winners

  • Bartek Troczka, Rothamsted Research (Winner)
  • Weiying Jiang, California Environmental Protection Agency
  • Fang Jia, Bayer CropScience
  • John Sivey, Towson University

2014 New Investigator Award Winners

  • Lacey Jenson, Virginia Tech (Winner)
  • Natasha Andrade, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Helene Hopfer, University of Technology, Austria

2013 New Investigator Award Winners

  • Daniel Swale, University of Florida, Gainesville (Winner)
  • Chloé de Perre, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
  • Chitvan Khajuria, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

2012 New Investigator Award Winners

  • Xin Zhang, Kansas State University (Winner)
  • Jeremy Conkle, University of California, Riverside
  • Fan Tong, Iowa State University

2011 New Investigator Award Winner

  • Cody Howard, University of California, Davis

2010 New Investigator Award Winner

  • Kyoung Sup Yoon, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

2009 New Investigator Award Winner

  • Jennifer Anderson, Iowa State University

2008 New Investigator Award Winner

  • Ashli Brown, Mississippi State University