

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS 2022 STERLING B. HENDRICKS MEMORIAL LECTURESHIP

Sponsored by USDA-Agricultural Research Service Co-Sponsored by AGFD and AGRO Divisions

The Agricultural Research Service (ARS), USDA's principal inhouse scientific agency, is seeking nominations for the 2022 Sterling B. Hendricks Memorial Lectureship Award. This award is also co-sponsored by the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Established in 1981, the Hendricks Memorial Lectureship honors the memory of Sterling B. Hendricks (1902-1981) by recognizing scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the chemical science of agriculture. Hendricks contributed to many diverse scientific disciplines, including soil science, mineralogy, agronomy, plant physiology, geology, and chemistry. He is most frequently remembered for discovering phytochrome, the light-activated molecule that regulates many plant processes. The lecture should address a scientific topic, trend, or policy issue related to agriculture.

The lecture is a forum for a presentation on a scientific topic, trend, or policy issue related to the chemical science of agriculture. Presenting the lecture is a requirement of the honor. The award includes an honorarium of \$2,000, a bronze medallion, and expenses to present the lecture.

2000 William S. Bowers, University of Arizona, Tucson

2001 Malcolm Thompson, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, retired

The 2022 Award will be presented at the ACS National Meeting in Chicago, Illinois just prior to the lecture. The Divisions of Agrochemicals (AGRO) and Agricultural and Food Chemistry (AGFD) co-sponsor the lecture, and in 2022, AGRO will host the lecture.

Nominees may be outstanding senior scientists in industry, university, consulting, or government positions. *Current ARS employees are not eligible*.

The Nomination Package includes:

- A letter explaining the nominee's contributions to chemistry and agriculture
- A current curriculum vitae

Please send the completed package in pdf format to HendricksLecture@usda.gov

The deadline for nominations is January 15, 2022.

PAST STERLING B. HENDRICKS MEMORIAL LECTURESHIP AWARD WINNERS

PAST STERLING B. HENDRICKS IVIEWORIAL LECTURESHIP AWARD WINNERS				
	1981	Norman E. Borlaug, Nobel Laureate, International Maize	2002	Irvin E. Liener, University of Minnesota, St. Paul
		and Wheat Improvement Center, Mexico City, Mexico	2003	Kriton Kleanthis Hatzios, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and
	1982	Warren L. Butler, University of California, San Diego		State University, Blacksburg
	1983	Melvin Calvin, University of California, Berkeley	2004	Robert L. Buchanan, Food and Drug Administration,
	1984	Frederick Ausubel, Harvard Medical School, Boston		College Park
	1985	Alan Putnam, Michigan State University, East Lansing	2005	Donald L. Sparks, University of Delaware
	1986	Ralph Hardy, Cornell University and BioTechnica	2006	Stanley B. Prusiner, Nobel Laureate, University of
		International, Ithaca		California, San Francisco
	1987	Mary-Dell Chilton, Ciba-Geigy Corporation, Research	2007	Bruce E. Dale, Michigan State University, East Lansing
		Triangle Park	2008	Fergus M. Clydesdale, University of Massachusetts-
	1988	Bruce N. Ames, University of California, Berkeley		Amherst
	1989	Sanford A. Miller, University of Texas Health Science	2009	Charles J. Arntzen, Arizona State University, Tempe
		Center at San Antonio	2010	Chris Somerville, Director of the Energy Biosciences
	1990	Roy L. Whistle, Purdue University, West Lafayette		Institute, Berkeley
	1991	Peter S. Eagleson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology,	2011	Deborah P. Delmer, University of California, Davis
		Cambridge	2012	Eric Block, University at Albany, State University of New
	1992	John E. Casida, University of California, Berkeley		York
	1993	Philip H. Abelson, Deputy Editor, Science, and Scientific	2013	Keith Solomon, University of Guelph, Canada
		Advisor to AAAS, Washington, DC	2014	Robert T. Fraley, Monsanto, Company, St. Louis
	1994	Wendell L. Roelofs, Cornell University, Ithaca	2015	James H. Tumlinson, Penn State, University Park
	1995	Winslow R. Briggs, Carnegie Institution of Washington,	2016	May R. Berenbaum, University of Illinois, Urbana-
		Stanford, California		Champaign
	1996	Hugh D. Sisler, University of Maryland, College Park	2017	John A. Pickett, Rothamsted Research, United Kingdom
	1997	Ernest Hodgson, North Carolina State University, Raleigh	2018	James N. Seiber, University of California, Davis
	1998	Morton Beroza, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, retired	2019	John W. Finley, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge
	1999	Bruce D. Hammock, University of California, Davis	2020	Thomas C. Sparks, Corteva Agriscience, Indianapolis,

retired

2021 Fereidoon Shahidi, Memorial University of Newfoundland