

## CALL FOR NOMINATIONS 2022 STERLING B. HENDRICKS MEMORIAL LECTURESHIP

Sponsored by USDA-Agricultural Research Service Co-Sponsored by AGFD and AGRO Divisions

The Agricultural Research Service (ARS), USDA's principal inhouse scientific agency, is seeking nominations for the 2022 Sterling B. Hendricks Memorial Lectureship Award. This award is also co-sponsored by the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Established in 1981, the Hendricks Memorial Lectureship honors the memory of Sterling B. Hendricks (1902-1981) by recognizing scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the chemical science of agriculture. Hendricks contributed to many diverse scientific disciplines, including soil science, mineralogy, agronomy, plant physiology, geology, and chemistry. He is most frequently remembered for discovering phytochrome, the light-activated molecule that regulates many plant processes. The lecture should address a scientific topic, trend, or policy issue related to agriculture.

The lecture is a forum for a presentation on a scientific topic, trend, or policy issue related to the chemical science of agriculture. Presenting the lecture is a requirement of the honor. The award includes an honorarium of \$2,000, a bronze medallion, and expenses to present the lecture.

2000 William S. Bowers, University of Arizona, Tucson

2001 Malcolm Thompson, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, retired

The 2022 Award will be presented at the ACS National Meeting in Chicago, Illinois just prior to the lecture. The Divisions of Agrochemicals (AGRO) and Agricultural and Food Chemistry (AGFD) co-sponsor the lecture, and in 2022, AGRO will host the lecture.

**Nominees** may be outstanding senior scientists in industry, university, consulting, or government positions. *Current ARS employees are not eligible*.

## The Nomination Package includes:

- A letter explaining the nominee's contributions to chemistry and agriculture
- A current curriculum vitae

Please send the completed package in pdf format to HendricksLecture@usda.gov

The deadline for nominations is January 14, 2022.

## PAST STERLING B. HENDRICKS MEMORIAL LECTURESHIP AWARD WINNERS

PAST STERLING D. HENDRICKS WIEWORIAL LECTORESHIP AWARD WINNERS			
1981	Norman E. Borlaug, Nobel Laureate, International Maize	2002	Irvin E. Liener, University of Minnesota, St. Paul
	and Wheat Improvement Center, Mexico City, Mexico	2003	Kriton Kleanthis Hatzios, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and
1982	Warren L. Butler, University of California, San Diego		State University, Blacksburg
1983	Melvin Calvin, University of California, Berkeley	2004	Robert L. Buchanan, Food and Drug Administration,
1984	Frederick Ausubel, Harvard Medical School, Boston		College Park
1985	Alan Putnam, Michigan State University, East Lansing	2005	Donald L. Sparks, University of Delaware
1986	Ralph Hardy, Cornell University and BioTechnica	2006	Stanley B. Prusiner, Nobel Laureate, University of
	International, Ithaca		California, San Francisco
1987	Mary-Dell Chilton, Ciba-Geigy Corporation, Research	2007	Bruce E. Dale, Michigan State University, East Lansing
	Triangle Park	2008	Fergus M. Clydesdale, University of Massachusetts-
1988	Bruce N. Ames, University of California, Berkeley		Amherst
1989	Sanford A. Miller, University of Texas Health Science	2009	Charles J. Arntzen, Arizona State University, Tempe
	Center at San Antonio	2010	Chris Somerville, Director of the Energy Biosciences
1990	Roy L. Whistle, Purdue University, West Lafayette		Institute, Berkeley
1991	Peter S. Eagleson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology,	2011	Deborah P. Delmer, University of California, Davis
	Cambridge	2012	Eric Block, University at Albany, State University of New
1992	John E. Casida, University of California, Berkeley		York
1993	Philip H. Abelson, Deputy Editor, Science, and Scientific	2013	, - , - , - , -
	Advisor to AAAS, Washington, DC	2014	, - 1 J,
1994	Wendell L. Roelofs, Cornell University, Ithaca	2015	James H. Tumlinson, Penn State, University Park
1995	Winslow R. Briggs, Carnegie Institution of Washington,	2016	May R. Berenbaum, University of Illinois, Urbana-
	Stanford, California		Champaign
1996	Hugh D. Sisler, University of Maryland, College Park	2017	John A. Pickett, Rothamsted Research, United Kingdom
1997	Ernest Hodgson, North Carolina State University, Raleigh	2018	James N. Seiber, University of California, Davis
1998	Morton Beroza, USDA-ARS, Beltsville, retired	2019	John W. Finley, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge
1999	Bruce D. Hammock, University of California, Davis	2020	Thomas C. Sparks, Corteva Agriscience, Indianapolis,

retired

2021 Fereidoon Shahidi, Memorial University of Newfoundland