CALL FOR NOMINATIONS 2020 STERLING B. HENDRICKS MEMORIAL LECTURESHIP Sponsored by USDA-Agricultural Research Service Co-Sponsored by AGFD & AGRO Divisions

The USDA-Agricultural Research Service (ARS) is seeking nominations for the 2020 Sterling B. Hendricks Memorial Lectureship Award. This Lectureship was established in 1981 by ARS to honor the memory of Sterling B. Hendricks and to recognize scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the chemical science of agriculture. Hendricks contributed to many diverse scientific disciplines, including soil science, mineralogy, agronomy, plant physiology, geology, and chemistry. He is most frequently remembered for discovering phytochrome, the light-activated molecule that regulates many plant processes. The lecture should address a scientific topic, trend, or policy issue related to agriculture. The deadline is **January 15, 2020**.

The AGRO Division and the Agricultural & Food Chemistry Division (AGFD) co-sponsor the lecture which will be held in a joint session of these divisions. The lectureship is presented at an AGFD symposium in even-numbered years and in an AGRO symposium in odd-numbered years. The award includes an honorarium of \$2000, a bronze medallion, and expenses to attend the meeting. **Nominees** will be outstanding senior scientists in industry, university, consulting, or government positions. *Current ARS employees are not eligible*. The Award will be presented at the 260th American Chemical Society National Meeting held in 2020 in San Francisco, California, prior to the lecture. Giving a presentation is a requirement of the honor.

Nominations for the Agricultural Research Service Sterling B. Hendricks Memorial Lectureship Award are accepted each year beginning in October.

The Nomination Package includes:

- A letter explaining the nominee's contributions to chemistry and agriculture
- A current curriculum vitae

Please send the completed package in pdf format to HendricksLecture@ars.usda.gov.

PAST STERLING B. HENDRICKS MEMORIAL LECTURESHIP AWARD WINNERS

- 1981 Norman E. Borlaug, Nobel Laureate, International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center, Mexico City, Mexico
- 1982 Warren L. Butler, University of California, San Diego
- 1983 Melvin Calvin, Nobel Laureate, University of California, Berkeley
- 1984 Frederick Ausubel, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts
- 1985 Alan Putnam, Michigan State University, East Lansing
- 1986 Ralph Hardy, Cornell University and BioTechnica International, Ithaca, New York
- 1987 Mary-Dell Chilton, Ciba-Geigy Corporation, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina
- 1988 Bruce N. Ames, University of California, Berkeley
- 1989 Sanford A. Miller, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Texas
- 1990 Roy L. Whistle, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana
- 1991 Peter S. Eagleson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge
- 1992 John E. Casida, University of California-Berkeley
- 1993 Philip H. Abelson, Deputy Editor, *Science*, and Scientific Advisor to AAAS, Washington, DC
- 1994 Wendell L. Roelofs, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York
- 1995 Winslow R. Briggs, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Stanford, California
- 1996 Hugh D. Sisler, University of Maryland, College Park
- 1997 Ernest Hodgson, North Carolina State University, Raleigh
- 1998 Morton Beroza, USDA-ARS (retired), Beltsville, Maryland

- 1999 Bruce D. Hammock, University of California, Davis
- 2000 William S. Bowers, University of Arizona, Tuscon
- 2001 Malcolm Thompson, USDA-ARS (retired), Beltsville, Maryland
- 2002 Irvin E. Liener, University of Minnesota, St. Paul
- 2003 Kriton Kleanthis Hatzios, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg
- 2004 Robert L. Buchanan, Food and Drug Administration, College Park, Maryland
- 2005 Donald L. Sparks, University of Delaware, Newark
- 2006 Stanley B. Prusiner, Nobel Laureate, University of California, San Francisco
- 2007 Bruce E. Dale, Michigan State University, East Lansing
- 2008 Fergus M. Clydesdale, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
- 2009 Charles J. Arntzen, Arizona State University, Tempe
- 2010 Chris Somerville, Director of the Energy Biosciences Institute, Berkeley, California
- 2011 Deborah P. Delmer, University of California, Davis
- 2012 Eric Block, University at Albany, State University of New York
- 2013 Keith Solomon, University of Guelph, Canada
- 2014 Robert T. Fraley, Monsanto, Company, St. Louis, Missouri
- 2015 James H. Tumlinson, Penn State, University Park
- 2016 May R. Berenbaum, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
- 2017 John A. Pickett, Rothamsted Research, United Kingdom
- 2018 James N. Seiber, University of California, Davis