Sterling B. Hendricks Memorial Lectureship Award

Sponsored by the USDA-Agricultural Research Service

Co-sponsored by AGFD and AGRO Divisions

This Lectureship was established in 1981 by ARS to honor the memory of Sterling B. Hendricks and to recognize scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the chemical science of agriculture. Hendricks contributed to many diverse scientific disciplines, including soil science, mineralogy, agronomy, plant physiology, geology, and chemistry. Nominations should be received by December 31 of each year. For more information, direct inquiries to

2018 Awardee

James N. Seiber, a native of Missouri, received his degrees in chemistry from Bellarmine College (Louisville, KY), Arizona State University, and Utah State University. He was a research scientist at Dow Chemical Company, and then a faculty member at the University of California, Davis (UC Davis), Department of Environmental Toxicology, starting in 1969. He served as Professor and Department Chair, and as Associate Dean for Research in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. He was founding director of the Center for Environmental Sciences and Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno (UNR) in 1992, where he initiated a multidisciplinary program of research and graduate education in Environmental Health.  See full announcement.

Past Awardees