skip to Main Content

The AGRO Division has established an endowment fund to be used to promote an understanding of the role of chemistry in agriculture. To address this goal, student awards will be made through the Division’s Education Committee.

The subject of the presentation should pertain to the chemistry of the AGRO Division. Topics should relate to pest management chemistry including synthesis, metabolism, regulatory, biotechnology, delivery, risk assessment, resistance, residues, mode of action, fate/behavior/transport, and agronomic practices. The AGRO Division is also interested in chemical products made from agricultural commodities and byproducts, including biofuels and the issues surrounding their production.

Selected undergraduate and graduate students were awarded up to $600 each to help defray costs of attendance to give poster and oral presentations at the 260th ACS National Meeting in San Francisco, CA, on August 16-20, 2020.  First, Second, and Third place winners in the poster competition will receive an additional cash award.  Please see the application form below for more details.

2019 Awardees

Oral Presentations

  • Mary Grace Guardian, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
  • Maura Hall, Iowa State University
  • Ryan Paul, Colorado State University
  • Juliano Toniato, University of California, Davis 

Poster Presentations

  • Matthew Byron,University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
  • Rui Chen, Louisiana State University
  • Caleb Corona, Iowa State University
  • Christopher Fellows, Louisiana State University
  • Shiyao Jiang, University of Florida, Gainesville
  • Ellis Johnson, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • James Klimavicz, Iowa State University
  • Annie Krueger, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Zhilin Li, Louisiana State University
  • Sarah McComic, Louisiana State University
  • Meerae Park, University of California, Davis
  • Vamshi Sammeta, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
  • Alexander Soohoo-Hui, Daniel Swale
  • Jennifer Williams,  University of Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Zijiang Yang, University of Maryland at College Park

Sponsored by


Education Award Co-Chairs:
Marja Koivunen, AMVAC Chemical Corporation
Aaron Gross, Virginia Tech

Please see the Call for Nominations document for detailed instructions on how to submit your application.

2018 Travel Award Winners
2018 Student Travel Awardees: Marja Koivunen (Coordinator), Shiyao Jiang (Second Place), Edwin Murenzi (First Place), Mary Grace Guardian (Third Place), and Diana Aga (Coordinator)

2018 Awardees

  • 1st Prize – Edwin Murenzi,Use of microtransplanted rat brain tissue in Xenopus oocytes to determine the toxicodynamic differences of pyrethroids on sodium channel isoforms in juvenile and adult mammalian brains. University of Massachusetts, Amherst, John Clark.
  • 2nd Prize – Shiyao Jiang, High-throughput screening apparatus for evaluating spatial repellency and vapor toxicity of commercially available and candidate repellent compounds. University of Florida, Jeffrey Bloomquist
  • 3rd Prize – Mary Grace Guardian, Estrone in aquatic systems in the presence of poultry litter and cow manure: Determination of its fate, degree of mineralization, and changes in its endocrine disrupting potential. University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, Diana Aga

2017 Awardees

  • 1st Prize – Zhilin Li, Characterizing the physiological role and toxicological potential of potassium transport pathways in the tick salivary gland, Louisiana State University, Daniel Swale.
  • 2nd Prize – Shiyao Jiang, Synergistic effect of permethrin with potassium channel blockers on Anopheles gambiae,University of Florida, Jeffrey Bloomquist.
  • Co 3rd Prize Winners –
    • Ping He, Mass spectrometry based detection of vitellogenin peptides as biomarker of fish exposure to estrogenic compounds in aquatic, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, Diana Aga.
    • Lei Su, Transformation of 2,4-D herbicides in simulated leaf surface systems, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, Ning Dai.

2016 Awardees

  • 1st Prize – Edmund Norris, Exploring the relationship between PaOA1 receptor modulation and the insecticidal character of monoterpenoids. Iowa State University, Joel Coats.
  • 2nd Prize – Nita Gabriela Chavez Soria, Mass Spectral identification of biomarkers of exposure to silver nanoparticles in corn roots, University of New York at Buffalo, Diana Aga.
  • 3rd Prize – Scott O’Neal, Cardiac regulation of viral infection in a model social insect, Virginia Tech, Troy Anderson.
Back To Top